Cry Out America! 2008

Greetings friends,

Yesterday marked the seventh anniversary of the greatest wake-up call our nation has received in this generation – the attack on the World Trade Center in NYC. Unfortunately, since that day our country has gotten worse instead of better. Morally and spiritually we are at a crossroads that coincides with the coming election.

Thanks to the Awakening America Alliance, I was able to coordinate and participate in a prayer gathering called Cry Out America! in Northampton, MA. Northampton was once a place of great spiritual revival thanks to the Great Awakening when the Holy Spirit came upon Jonathan Edwards (I suppose I could say he started it, but in reality, the Holy Spirit had to be upon him for something like the Great Awakening to occur – man is only a vessel to do the work of God). However, Northampton is not that place anymore.

Yesterday’s gathering was small – not more than 15 or 16 people attended – but I believe we had an impact because of our location. We were in the courtyard of the historic Hampshire County Courthouse which is located at 99 Main Street – the corner of King Street and Main Street, a major intersection in downtown Northampton. Although I had not slept much the night before, was up at 4:30 that morning and could feel a cold coming on (yes, today I am sick and at work but that’s ok) – I could feel the Holy Spirit with us and we prayed for this nation, the city of Northampton and repentance for our sins – personal and national.

9/11 is an important day in our nation’s recent history. It was a day of mourning for the lives of those that were lost and were about to be lost (due to the war to come) but also a fork in the road. We could either seek God and His mercy for this nation or we could continue to live the way we were and HOPE that in the end it would all work out. Many people initially sought God but have since gone the way of the world again. (Personally, I didn’t seek God in my own life until 4 years later and Praise Him every day that He was faithful and has a purpose in my life.)

As a country we are again at a crossroads with the upcoming election. We all need to seek God when we are preparing to vote on November 4th. As a Christian woman, I know that if I am going to make an impact on this country, I can not just stand back and not vote. My voice needs to be heard. But it’s not just my voice – it’s GOD’s voice that truly needs to be heard. We need to put on the armor of God, pray for guidance and to hear his voice. But don’t just sit there idle… be proactive. Learn about the candidates and the issues. God may give you a word but you also need to take action concerning that word.

My father will not be happy to hear this, but I’m voting “Republican”. That’s right people, I am saying it – I’m voting for McCain/Palin. At the end of the day, they are the only “ticket” I can say I feel at peace voting for. I have sought God and checked out both candidate’s websites while making my decision.

Please pray for me, brethren, that I recover quickly from this cold.

God Bless,
Jen

Leave a Reply

