Moment of reflection

I’ve been sitting at my local Barnes & Noble for the last 3 hours or so. I came to do homework for my classes (and I accomplished much). I suppose I could have stayed home since the house was empty for the absence of my roommates. Everyone was busy with either church service or prayer time. I wish I didn’t have homework to do but I didn’t get as much finished in the last two days as I hoped I would and so I was unable to attend.

While I have been here I picked up a few books that I’ve been wanting to check out. I seem to get a restlessness about me when it comes to learning and reading. Sometimes I just can’t seem to get through an entire book before I want to go on to the next. And most of the time it is because I find myself online checking out what’s new out there. The funny thing is that I’m not that way about music. I feel like sometimes I’m behind when it comes to music because I’m not like my friend, Damien, who just finds something new and runs with it. I, on the other hand, like to listen to the same album for months.

What I really want to write about though is a question that was posed to my online geography class based on our reading for this week. We read about languages and religion and how they are dispersed across the world and how the impact people in different locations. The question we were asked was about whether religion should be used in politics and whether it was misused or not.

To be honest, I’m not sure that American politics can survive without religion because this country was based on Christianity – and anyone who wants to show me I’m wrong better com with proof of that from the Constitution or some quote from a person who was involved in creating the Constitution.

I guess I’m just frustrated with a lot of things that are going on in this country where my right to be a Christian and profess my faith and speak about it is being undermined and attacked. Under the First Amendment, I have the right to worship how I choose and the freedom to speak about it publicly. However, there are state and local governments who are trying to force Christians to stop and become quiet about our faith.

Well… I’m here to say one thing… THE BODY OF CHRIST HAS BEEN QUIET LONG ENOUGH!

We need to take a stand for our faith and beliefs. We need to promote the Kingdom, not ourselves. Profess your faith. When you speak, speak words of truth and love. Edify the body. Encourage nonbelievers who question if there is a God to learn about Him. Speak LIFE into your brothers and sisters in Christ. Whatever you do, DON’T BE SILENT.

I, myself, have been silent long enough when it comes to speaking to those around me who are not believers. I as well as my fellow brothers and sisters who have difficulty finding the words to speak to these people need to pray that God gives us the words to speak to these people and that we have boldness in Him.

I hope that I have encouraged someone today.

Blessings in Christ Jesus,

Jen

Leave a Reply

