God Written Love Story

Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.
– Hebrews 12:2 (KJVR)

Ever since I became born again, it has been a rocky road. Not because of God but because of me. I knew I needed to change when I came to God but as we all know, most humans – including myself – usually resist change because it is a rough process many times.

Change is a rough process because when we change, we either have to:

  1. let go of mindsets that we have become attached to;
  2. let go of people in our lives that we have become attached to; or
  3. both.

They say this is a reason why women who are abused find it hard to leave their abuser. They start to believe that lifestyle is all they deserve. There is, of course, the fact that many times these women are threatened by their abuser (verbally and/or non verbally) that if they leave, the abuser will kill them.

But this post is not about that. What I really want to post about is the idea of setting one’s self apart wholly unto God. 1 Thessalonians 5:23 (NIV) says,

“May God Himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

There is also the Nazirite vow discussed in Numbers 6 which Samson took (Judges 13). Samuel was also set apart for God because of a vow that his mother took when she prayed to become pregnant with him (1 Samuel 1).

After reading the books When God Writes Your Love Story and When Dreams Come True by Eric and Leslie Ludy, also, is a reason why I am writing about being set apart for God and for your future spouse. I’ve been inspired by them to set myself apart unto God and for my future husband. To read their story and hear about the romance that God wrote for them, it is just amazing to me. I know they aren’t the only ones and I want a love story like that for myself.

Besides… I’m beginning to believe that God will do a much better job at picking my husband than I have. I mean, God has already picked him. I just pray that he (my husband) has set himself apart for me. I do pray for him now and I pray that he prays for me, too.

This isn’t an easy thing to do. Especially since I haven’t said anything really to my roommates or my other friends (well, some know that I have started by “abstaining” from dating for 1 year but that’s it). Of course, if they read this now, they’ll know. 🙂 I just know that I need to become closer to God and learn more about His purpose in my life and for my life. I know He has amazing plans in store for me.

Walking this life is hard and the changes I’ve been going through are hard. Life around here is constantly changing, too.

I’m off to bed soon so I hope you all have a good night.

Blessings,

Jen

Leave a Reply

