Twilight… and the Christmas Season

For the past few weeks, I have been reading the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer. I wanted to read the first book because I had seen the previews for the movie and was curious as to what all the excitement was about, so I checked out Twilight from my local library since I wasn’t sure if I would like the book or not.

I have to admit that even though the book is geared for “young adults”, I was thoroughly entertained. Once I finished the first one, I was hooked! God seems to have given me quite a creative mind, especially when it comes to my imagination when I read fiction novels. Anyway, I read the next two, New Moon and Eclipse, about a week later and then I finally finished the fourth and final, Breaking Dawn, last night. I have to admit, there were some situations that I saw coming, and others I did not.

Although these are secular in their content and subject matter, they are good books. I wouldn’t recommend them for tweens or young teenagers, but older teenagers (16+) and adults would enjoy them.

On another note… I have been really thinking about what Christmas really means. At least, what it means to me. As a Christian, it is a time to celebrate the birth of Christ (although his birthday isn’t really in December, but that’s just a formality) and a time to reflect on the past year.

However, my eyes have been opened to what the world sees Christmas as and how retailers use the holiday to entice people to purchase many gifts for their loved ones as a way for them to show how much they care. Unfortunately, this seems to cause people to seem almost uncaring about the welfare of the people around them. Case in point, the Wal-Mart employee who was trampled on Black Friday when shoppers couldn’t wait to get in the store to purchase gifts. This man was not small and people walked right past him on the floor without bothering to stop and see if he was okay…

If this is truly what Christmas has become, I don’t want any part of it. No, really. I love Christmas because it is supposed to be about joy and peace and hope and LOVE – not want and greed and being so consumed with buying the perfect gift that you seem crazy!

So, for these reasons, I am going to try to change how I view Christmas and how I celebrate the season which starts on Thanksgiving and ends on New Year’s Day. My way may not be the best way for everyone and that’s okay. I’m not going to tell you in what ways I’m going to change because, again, it may not work for you.

I hope that everyone has a blessed day,
Jen

One response to “Twilight… and the Christmas Season

  1. Thanks for visiting me – seems like a bunch of us are re-thinking Christmas. I am trying Random Acts of Kindness that outweigh my impatience and nastier side on a daily basis. Some days I am better than others. Asking for His Help works best!

Leave a Reply

