A Return to Modesty by Wendy Shalit

Now that I am finished with classes until January, I am trying to catch up on some “personal” reading, like the Twilight Saga that I absolutely love! (See my last post about that.) I finished Breaking Dawn, the final book in the Twilight Saga, over the weekend and now I am on another book, A Return to Modesty by Wendy Shalit.

It was written about nine years ago but I think it is more relevant today than it was back then. In the book, Ms. Shalit writes about how being taught (or not taught) sex “education” in school at a young age (many children, if not most, who attend public school are taught sex ed beginning in elementary school) influences how a person views sex as a young adult and also how men and women react toward one another.

I vaguely remember being taught sex ed myself. I’m not sure why that is but I do remember being about 13 or 14 and saying to myself that I wanted to have a “fairy tale love story” and be a princess who finds her prince. I also remember saying that I wanted to wait until I was married to have sex. (Man, did I go down the wrong road!)

Luckily for me, I found a God who loves me, met me where I was and told me that although I went down the wrong path when I was younger, I was clean and He loves me for who I am in Him. He only sees the finished work. Hallelujah!

Okay… so back to the book… So, I’ve been reading this book and I realize that this feminist movement and this “sexual revolution” that has been occurring since the 60s and 70s has really warped the ideals and the moral compass that many people (in America especially) used to live by. It was once okay for a woman to want to be feminine and treated like a lady by a man who respected her for the fact that she was a lady. It used to be okay for a woman to turn down sex and hold a standard of waiting until marriage. (Parents also used to be the only ones to teach their kids about sex as well but that’s a whole other post.)

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for women having rights to voting, being paid the same as a man for the same job, etc. However, I do not believe that women are the same as men. If that were true, the world would be a different place. God created man first and then He created woman. That’s not to say that we’re inferior to men, just different.

I’m still reading the book so I’ll keep posting about this book as I go along. Hopefully I can finish the book this week. We’ll see. (Unfortunately, I don’t have too much time left to read for my own enjoyment until I have to start reading for school again.)

Have a blessed day!

Jen

Leave a Reply

