Day 2 of My 21 Day Fast

So yesterday I started my 21 day fast. There are no “guidelines” as to how they want us to fast (ie. water only, Daniel fast, etc.) but I’ve decided that since I am still getting over my cold and I’ve never done a 21 day water/liquid only fast, that I would start my fast by fasting 2 meals a day. I find it more convenient to fast lunch and dinner.

Yesterday, though, was an odd day. We had our “usual” church service for New Year’s Eve from 8:00 p.m. to midnight and then after we had an “all-nighter” for the teenagers in our youth group from midnight to 9:00 a.m. Sister Sandra, my pastor’s daughter-in-law, asked me after service on Sunday to help out. I couldn’t say “no” because I love working with the kids. However, forgetting how kids are, I naively thought they would get tired at some point during the night and go to sleep. Yeah, right….

I don’t think we’ll be doing it again without some structure and more planning with regards to age ranges and chaperones. Originally Sandra had only invited the 13-18 year old kids but somehow my pastor’s wife (whom I love dearly) decided to tell a couple of the younger kids that they could come, too. The younger kids were extra hyper (thanks to being overtired more than the amount of sugar they consumed, I’m sure) and one of the 13-year-olds was very obnoxious. So, needless to say we had more problems than not. I was very tempted to call this particular 13-year-old’s grandparents to come pick him up because no matter what we said to him, he just didn’t listen. There is a serious issue with authority there.

I did, however, get an hour’s worth of sleep during the night and then I went home and slept for another hour and a half. The rest of my day was pretty relaxed. I’m pretty tired today but I’m feeling good otherwise.

For the next 3 weeks I’m going to try to blog every day or every other day about my fast to keep you up-to-date. It’s going to be interesting how this works with my school schedule as well.
Also, yesterday Melissa from Soul Mate’s Photography blogged that she and her husband each made a list of personal and professional goals they would like to accomplish in 2009. It inspired me to do the same (instead of make a New Year’s Resolution). (Check out Melissa’s blog. Her pictures are AMAZING. She does wedding, portraits, etc. I’m going to start saving now because I want her to do my wedding photos and I’ll definitely pay for her to fly out from OR to MA to do it.)I’ve made a list of 9 or 10 which I will pray about and if God gives me something different, I’ll add to it and at the end of January, I’ll post it here.

Well, I hope you all have a blessed day and a blessed New Year.

Jen

Leave a Reply

