At the Well is at it’s new home :-)

Gathering At the Well

I blogged last week about another blog titled At the Well… In Pursuit of Titus 2 and how they were going to be at a new ‘home’ as of today. To help welcome them to their new home, I am going to try to join them each week with their Monday Gathering At the Well post. They describe their weekly Monday post as “This will be our weekly meme where you will have a chance to blog about the weeks topic. The topic and discussion questions for the upcoming week will be posted no later than Wednesday, so that you can see what is coming up. If you are an obsessive, compulsive planner like me and like to get everything done ahead of time, this will give you a chance to gather your thoughts together and take some time to pray over what the Lord would have you share At the Well.”

Here are this weeks post topics and my answers. Also, for those of you who may not have a Bible handy when reading this post, I have posted what Titus 2:2-5 says from the NIV

Teach the older men to be temperate, worthy of respect, self-controlled, and sound in faith, in love and in endurance.
Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way the live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.


When you read the Scripture found in Titus 2: 2-5, how do you see this playing out in your own life?
As a young, single woman, I look to woman like my Pastor’s wife, who I am close to, and other woman in my church who have been married for years as an example of what a Godly wife should be. There are other women in my church, single women, who are older that I look to as examples for how I should be as a Godly single woman while I am not so patiently waiting for my husband.

What are your areas of strength? Of weakness?
Because it is so easy to point out weaknesses, I will start with that. One area of weakness that I constantly battle with is asking for advice or help. I very much have a difficult time because I am of a generation in the world who has been taught not be be weak by needing to seek the advice of others or by asking for help (because in the world, that is a sign of weakness). Like with Sarah Mae, I do heed the advice of those women who have been place above me when I do either seek their advice or just by listening to what they have to say. My Pastor’s wife is truly a spiritual mother to myself and our entire congregation.

If you could set some sort of goal in relation to this Scripture, what would it be?

The goal I am going to set for myself in relation to this Scripture is to glean more from the Godly women around me, to seek their advice and to ask for help when it is needed.

If you would like to join in this discussion, please click the banner above or here.

Jen

7 responses to “At the Well is at it’s new home :-)

  1. I am so excited that you are joining us At the Well. You have some wonderful goals set for yourself and it sounds like you’ve got some great women in your life to help you along the journey to becoming the woman that God wants you to be. I look forward to getting to know you better through At the Well!

  2. I LOVE that you are a single gal joining us on this journey! You have things to “teach and remind” us as well! Your goals are impressive! You are going to go the distance with your eyes “fixed” on the prize….Thanks for joining us at “The Well!!”peace,lori

  3. Thank you ladies for your encouragement and welcoming words! It is so greatly appreciated. I believe it is an awesome thing when Godly women come together to encourage and lift each other up.

  4. LoL–it’s not just your generation because many of us struggle with that–it’s one of my weaknesses. (and no, I’m not in your generation. LoL–I just feel like I am–for the most part.)Blessings!

  5. Great goal and focus. What a gift to have a Pastor’s wife to learn from. You can also learn and grow just as much from the Word, as the Holy Spirit teaches you and molds you in His woman. That is what God continues to do in my life. He uses all our circumstances to make us into the women He desires. Looking to women in the Bible has been foundational in my understanding of become a Titus 2 women. I’ve taught a bit on women this year, and some of those lessons at http://wowam.blogspot.com, under the lessons link, might be helpful to you!Blessings,

Leave a Reply

