Jen’s Goals for 2009

So, in January I wrote about making a list of goals for myself for 2009. God is continually working in all of us and these are just some things that He has impressed upon my heart to work in this coming year in preparation for the words He has spoken over my life. This list is in no particular order.

  1. Manage my time and money better.
  2. Become more focused in my studies – as of January, I had 3 courses left to take and I’m almost finished with one.
  3. Create that desire in myself to read His Word. I also need to learn a good method for myself when it comes to studying the Bible.
  4. Go to China! (this is becoming more and more of a reality for me.)
  5. Mail care packages to the 163rd Intelligence Battalion on a regular basis. (My cousin’s husband is the chaplain assigned to them.)
  6. Become more confident in Him.
  7. Become more discerning about which situations are right for me to be bold in Him. (This past year I learned the art of keeping my mouth shut when it wasn’t necessary for me to speak so now, I need to learn how to notice when being bold is necessary.)
  8. Finish what I start. I always seem to have a problem finishing things – a book, a blog post, etc. I need to learn the art of the “follow through”, hence goal #5.

Some of these goals are in the process of being completed or worked on. It’s amazing though what God will do to get you where He needs you.

I will be transparent regarding my goal to manage my money. It’s not something that’s uncommon but it’s still embarrassing and upsetting to have to admit this. When I was 18, I got my first credit card. I had a job so I could pay my bill but I wasn’t getting paid a lot and in the end, I started to rack up credit. Next thing I knew, I had 3 or 4 credit cards and could only make my monthly payments, nothing more. About 5 years ago, I consolidated some of my credit cards into a personal loan but I still had other cards I was paying. Needless to say, I’ve really gotten myself into a mess – $9,500.00 worth of a mess!

Last year my pastor started to talk to the congregation about getting out of debt, especially with the economy the way it is. The Bible says in Romans 13:8 –

“Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law.”

Deuteronomy 15:1 says that every seven years debts are to be forgiven. And when we pray the Lord’s prayer, found in Matthew 6, we ask God to “forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” In all of this, I became convicted about the monetary debts I owe to banks and credit card companies. So, last week, I did credit counseling. I knew I couldn’t do it by myself so I got help. My monthly payment is cut in half, I will pay it off in four years (hopefully less), and I can’t get another credit card until after it’s paid off. I think after what I’ve dealt with regarding my debt over the last few years, I probably won’t ever get a credit card again.

God is also saying to me that I need to spend less. Like many people, I always seem to be able to find something else that I “need.” I need to start saving. God is helping me with that my causing me to have to move back to my parent’s house. Yep, going back to mom and dad’s. No, it’s not my ideal situation. I would love to be able to either a) stay in the house I’m in or b) move in with one of my roommates to a 2 bedroom apartment. Alas, the roommate I would move in with is getting married this year and I can’t afford to stay in the house by myself or with just 3 of us.

So, God is really seeming to push me in the direction of getting my house in order because there will come a day when I will have to “merge” my house with my husband’s. You can’t take a house that is in order and merge it with a house that is out of order.

I pray you are all blessed today,

Jen

2 responses to “Jen’s Goals for 2009

  1. Jen, I really appreciate you sharing your goals. They are good ones, with an eternal perspective. And your honesty about your debit is the first step to change. Commit your ways, and your fiances, unto Him and He will show you just what you need to do. I’ll be posting about keeping budget in the next week or so, so be sure to stop by and check it out. I think it may be encouraging for you!Blessings,Lisa

  2. Hi Lisa,Thanks for the encouragement and stopping by my blog! šŸ™‚ Your words are appreciated so much. I think when we think about debt (or at least, when I do), I think of failure because I wasn’t able to live within my means. This was unfortunately due to my wanting nice, expensive things that now don’t matter. I mean, it’s not like I can take my iPod to heaven with me (oh, how I wish I could though lol). God has really had to stretch my faith when it comes to money and slowly I am giving my fiances to Him. It’s definitely a process.Blessings,Jen

Leave a Reply

