The Last Lecture #3 – You can always change your plan, but only if you have one.

I’m a big believer in to-do lists. It helps us to break life into small steps. I once put “get tenure” on my to-do list. That was naive. The most useful to-do list breaks tasks into small steps. It’s like when I encourage Logan (his son) to clean his room by picking up one thing at a time.

– Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

Now, this post may be hard to find Biblical backing on, since we all know that no matter what we plan, God will change it if it’s not in His plan. God will use whatever He needs to, to get us to believe and do what He needs us to.

In Exodus 13:17 (NIV), it says, “When Pharaoh let the people go, God did not lead them on the road through the Philistine country, though that was shorter. For God said, “If they face war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.”” See, God knew that if he left the planning up to the Israelites, they would have taken the route that would have caused them to go back to the place he just rescued them from. He also knew that they were not ready for the potential war they would have to face traveling through the land of the Philistines.

Whether a person realizes it or not, God has a plan not only for them but for this world as well. I know that I, myself, have thought in the past that if I screw up once or twice, that God would change his plan for my life. I know that is not true because I know that God will not forsake me when I stumble. He will help me to get back up again. When we do stumble, it doesn’t change the plan. It may delay us getting to the goal or cause us to go on a detour but the end result is still the same.

Now, I know there are some goals we can all plan out, such as getting through school or planning a wedding where we need to have a “to-do list” of the steps to get to that goal, but we also have to allow for what God has planned in the midst as well. A personal example for me is getting through school. When I started my courses, I had to meet with my advisor who planned out what courses I would take for the next five or six semesters. I didn’t worry much about the classes I was taking each semester because of this. I had my schedule and each semester I would cross check to make sure that the registrar’s office scheduled according to my advisors plan. Luckily for me I didn’t have to worry about much because each semester went as planned and if something happened to change that, I had the ability to change it again or just go with the flow. I know God his hand over me when my courses were planned out because another woman, who is in many of my law courses, has been going to the same school and had many problems with her schedule that caused her to take unnecessary courses and it prolonged her graduation.

Especially in the past year I have learned that I have to be more flexible because I may plan something to go a certain way but God may have a better or different plan. I try not to plan too far in advance for small stuff because I know God may change that. Even the big stuff like my mission trip I am being very flexible about. I am planning to go to China in April but something may come up and I might not be able to go then. If that’s the case, I’ll go in October when they go again or I might not be able to go.

My motto is, “Whatever God wants.”

I hope you are all blessed today,

Jen

Leave a Reply

