An "Off" Day

Today doesn’t seem to be a great day… The attack is strong today. The enemy sure knows me well enough to know what thoughts will cause me to stumble.

Everyone is looking down on you because you left before the baptism ended yesterday.

H isn’t really your friend. She doesn’t care about you. She doesn’t think your good enough.

No one has actually said any of this to me and I don’t really believe them but they sure can cause a person to rethink their relationships with God and His people.

And that is how it all starts.

If you start to believe the lies, then you’ll start to say to yourself, “I don’t need them. I can just find another church.” Or you’ll say, “I don’t need them or God. If that’s how a Christian is supposed to live, I don’t want it.”

I know. I was almost there in the beginning of my walk.

I won’t go into details but about 4 years ago, when I was just coming to the church. There was a misunderstanding and a couple of the young people came to me and confronted me behind closed doors. If it wasn’t for my friend, S, I would have stopped attending that church and who knows where I would be now… But I digress…

The enemy doesn’t like it when we have close relationships with other believers. He doesn’t like it when we choose God instead of the world. In my office, I have a few Scriptures that help me when I am having a day like today:

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever. Amen. – Ephesians 3:2-21 (NIV)

Don’t do as the wicked do,
and don’t follow the path of evildoers.
Don’t even think about it; don’t go that way.
Turn away and keep moving.
– Proverbs 4:14-15 (NIV)

But seek his kingdom, and all these things will be given to you as well. – Luke 12:31 (NIV)

I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart! And the peace I give you isn’t fragile like the peace the world gives. So don’t be troubled or afraid. – John 14:27 (TLB)

I thank God EVERY day for the Body of believers He has placed me in. During this season of my life, this is exactly where I am supposed to be.

Thank you Lord for your Grace every day,

Jen

Leave a Reply

