The God Who Covers Me – Treasured Study #1

This first post is about being “covered” and becoming clean through the blood of Christ. Hebrews 9:11-14 (NIV) says:

When Christ came as high priest of the good things that are already here (are to come), he went through the greater and more perfect tabernacle that is not man-made, that is to say, not a part of this creation. He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but he entered the Most Holy Place once of all by his own blood, having obtained eternal redemption. The blood of goats and bulls and the ashes of a heifer sprinkled on those who are ceremonially unclean sanctify so that they are outwardly clean. How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!

 Hebrews 10:16-18 (NIV) goes on to say:

“This is the covenant I will make with them
after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
and I will write them on their minds.”


Then he adds:


Their sins and lawless acts
I will remember no more.”


And where these have been forgiven, there is no longer any sacrifice for sin.

There are two questions asked for this section:

  • Think back to where and when you first received forgiveness and became “covered” and clean in Christ. Who was present with you? What was the setting? what artifact or keepsake reminds you of God’s covering for your sin?

     I think the first time I first received forgiveness and became “covered” and clean in Christ was when I first started going to church. I had been going to for a few weeks to CLF and my Pastor preached one of his rare salvation messages. I don’t remember exactly what was said, but I do know that that day I felt the peace of God come over me and I realized that I had been forgiven for all that I had done in the past. There were many tears then and since then.

    • What are some things you’ve used to conceal your shortcomings, and how has God replaced those fig leaves?

    I’ve used humor to conceal my shortcomings and God is still working on me about that. I am very self-deprecating and will make fun of myself – being the shortest of all of my friends, my height is always up for grabs. One of the first words I received from God was that I needed to stop picking on myself. Yeah… I’m working on it. I desperately need God’s help in this situation because I know that it is something that I need to stop.

    Lord, Thank You for the work You have already done in my life and that You are continuing to do in my life. God, I pray that I can see myself the way You and all my friends see me. I thank You for the people you have placed in my life to encourage me and see me through on this walk with You.

    Blessings,
    Jen

      Leave a Reply

      