28 Years Today

Yesterday I said I would blog about my view on birthdays so here it goes…

The majority of people view New Year’s Day as a “fresh start”, a new beginning, if you will. That’s when everyone makes new resolutions like starting a new diet or going to the gym or whatever else they plan to start doing that year. I do also. Last year I created a goals list for myself.

But, really, December 3 is the day that I really sit back and ponder about where my life is and if I’ve either moved forward in my walk with God, slid back or just stood still. It’s almost like my brain has a trigger for today that says, “Ok, your birthday is here. Time to evaluate.”

Maybe it has to do with the time of year. I’m pretty sure it’s at least PART of the reason why I seem to get anxious about my approximately birthday 3-4 weeks before (!).

As for where I am, in some parts of my walk, I think I’ve grown. In others, I’m pretty stagnant. Overall, it’s been a good year. A lot has changed and I’m adjusting to the changes. It’s crazy for me to see my best friend married and pregnant. I can’t wait until she starts showing! 🙂 I’m excited to be an honorary aunt to her son/daughter.

I’m truly thankful to God for all of the grace and mercy he has shown me over the last 4 years. He has been so faithful. I couldn’t ask for more than all he has given. He knew what I needed to make it through this journey without even asking! How great is He!

Blessings to you on this day,
Jen

Leave a Reply

