The Church at Thyatira

So as I continue from yesterday’s post, I get the revelation of the 7 churches in the book of Revelation. It’s a picture of the Church today.

It’s not that I didn’t know this or that it hasn’t been said by either myself or someone else, but it just hit me. I understand now. (I’m blond. Sometimes it takes a little bit.)

See, God wasn’t concerned about the people who didn’t follow Him in each of the cities where the churches were located. He was concerned about His people who were either following false doctrine or lost their first Love.

How Awesome is He that He would be mindful of His people and would give the warning to let us know that if we didn’t change our ways there would be dire consequences. I know I don’t always like discipline and sometimes it hurts, but I’m always glad for it because I know He wouldn’t discipline me if He didn’t love me.

If I am not constantly moving forward in Him, then I am stagnant or worse, moving backward. I don’t want that. I want to always be moving forward in Him. Now is the time for the Church to make the decision. Shall we leave the false doctrines and return to our first Love or will we continue to stay comfortable in where we sit in our churches and become stagnant?

When water sits for a long time and becomes stagnant, it begins to smell. It’s not a pretty smell either. It’s a stench. It smells like the wrong kind of death. I don’t know about you but I would rather live in Him and smell like a daily flesh offering than stagnant water.

Blessings,

Jen

Leave a Reply

