I Left a Part of Me Halfway Around the World

This past April, I spent a short time in a small city in China (well, I’m not sure if you would call about 1 million people a small city by American standards, but in China it’s a whole other situation). In total, I think I was there only about a week (minus travel time) but the people I met there changed me forever.

Our Surprise Farewell

The students met us at our hotel the morning we left.

It wasn’t what I expected. And yet it was everything I expected. I went with an open mind and open heart and when I came home, my heart was filled with love for the people I met there.

In the last 7 1/2 months since I’ve been home, I’ve tried to put my experience to words. It’s been a challenge. I’ve talked about it with friends, but again, it’s a challenge to discuss my experience.

The best way I can describe it is this:

You leave a piece of yourself wherever you go.

I left a part of me in China.

Me and Joan after I got my glasses in China that matched hers!

I’m not sure I can say more about my trip. Instead, here are a few of my favorite pictures of my time there.

The choir at church our only Sunday there.

After the most terrifying experience of my life... I rode horseback up a mountain with only a yard between the horse and the steep edge!

This is an example of one of the signs on Five Dragon Mountain. Their English translation wasn't all that good.

This was kinda crazy - They were building a outdoor stadium and they were putting together scaffolding to help. Yes, those are men on it.

Ok, that’s all for now.

Blessings,

Jen

Leave a Reply

