Welcoming In the New Year…

It’s almost New Year’s Eve. Soon it will be 2010. I can’t believe another year has come and gone. Like I mentioned in this post, I think my birthday is a better judge of growth and change.

It’s also when I start to think about how I am going to change by my next birthday.

One thing I am going to start today is Scripture memorization. I’m not great at it but I found a method I want to try. I am hoping that it works.

Here’s a visual of this method.

From the Bible Memorization page on Facebook

Here is a picture from the Bible Memorization page on Facebook.

I am starting out with 7 – one for each day and then I will add one more Scripture each week. I am supposed to spend 20 minutes a day going over the Scriptures. Hopefully by writing them instead of typing them it will help for me to retain them also. Eventually I should be able to switch out the Scriptures I have already memorized when I add new ones.

I read Pete Wilson’s post today about his New Year’s resolution. In January, I set goals for myself for the year instead of making a resolution.  After evaluating what my 27th year was like, there is much I want to change about how I live. In a typical day for me, there are things I want and need to change. It is just a matter of actually changing them.

I don’t want to come up on another birthday and feel like I’ve missed out on this life that God has given me. I don’t want to look back 5 years from now and wish I had done things differently. As a single woman, many people tell me that this is the perfect time for me to travel, to start my ministry, etc. They are right. I don’t want to just be sitting around waiting for my husband to “find” me. If I did that, I’m not sure I would be the type of woman he or anyone else would want to date let alone marry!

This year will be a year of praying about and stepping into what God has planned for my life.

I believe that 2010 is going to be better than 2009. Although, I’m not sure how I will top my trip to China. I guess we will just have to wait and see…

3 responses to “Welcoming In the New Year…

  1. Hi Jennifer! Nice to meet you. Found you over at Sarah Markley’s blog.

    LOVE this verse.

    Need to put it into practice. Every day. Every moment. Every breath!

Leave a Reply

