Praying for My Husband

Yes, you are reading that correctly.

No, I did not elope. I’m still single.

I think I might have said this before but it’s true. Although I haven’t met him yet (or have I?), I pray for him. I was reading A Life in Need of Change earlier today and her post today was on how she was going to pray a specific prayer for her husband every day for the rest of the year and that got me to thinking about praying for my husband.

photo from photobucket

photo from photobucket

I’ve come to realize that most people either think I’m crazy (which is true) or agree that it is a good idea. Here’s my thinking behind it: Although I don’t know 100% that I will ever get married, it is a desire of my heart to one day be married to the Godly man God has chosen for me (others include children, going on more mission trips, etc). As such a desire, I feel that it is necessary for me to start to pray for him BEFORE we meet (or, if he is someone I already know, before we start dating/courting) so that I am already in the habit/routine of praying for him.

I pray that he is a Godly man, that he seeks after the heart of the Father for his life, that he prays for me, that he is patient and that he can handle my craziness. I pray that he is kind and loving. That he would like to have children (biological and adopted) someday. I pray that if he doesn’t know Jesus that someone will come across his path and lead him to the Father before we meet but if they don’t, that he is at a point in his life when we do meet to come to know Jesus. If not, I pray that I am patient with him.

I pray for myself a lot during this time. Although my pastor warns against it, I pray for patience. (The reason why my pastor warns you about praying for patience or discernment is because God isn’t just going to give you patience or discernment but He will put you in a position and a situation where you are going to have to be patient or be discerning.) I pray that while I am waiting on God’s timing, I will still seek His face, that I will find how He judges the situation. I pray that I will grow in the fruits of the Spirit.

Will you also pray for me? I find it difficult some days to be willing to wait. (I can be quite impatient.) I have found that the enemy likes to use my singleness against me quite often, especially with all of these weddings and new babies just around the corner! So please pray that I continue to find my strength in Him for I know He is faithful.

My current memory verse is Philippians 4:6&7

Do not be anxious for anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (NIV)

and it is very appropriate for where I am in God….

One response to “Praying for My Husband

  1. Pingback: My Love Story « Blessed

Leave a Reply

