Change Your Perspective

The first time I heard this spoke directly to me was about a month ago at the Pioneer Valley House of Prayer. A pastor friend of mine, Mark, spoke it to me after I had mentioned that I was dealing with depression. (I’ve battled with depression since I was about 15 years old. I’ve been to 2 different therapists and on two different medications in the last 13 years. I’m not taking any medication now and I don’t foresee taking it in the future. Disclaimer: This is a personal choice. I do not promote medication for depression nor am I anti-medication for depression. I believe it is a personal decision to be made with the counsel of family, your pastor and your counselor.)

That wasn’t the last time that phrase has come across my path since then. It’s been in blogs, interviews with people, etc. I can’t remember all the places I’ve seen it except for today’s occurrence.

I happen to pick up the December copy of Prevention magazine. On the cover was the Season 5 Biggest Loser winner, Ali Vincent. She mentioned in the article her 7 “secrets of a healthy body and mind.” Number 2: Change Your Perspective. And this is what she said:

“Let’s say you have a job you don’t like, but you need it to pay your bills. Shift your mind-set: Learn to love the “why” of the job – you’re supporting your family! When my mom and I were eliminated from the show at the end of the fourth week, I could have thrown in the towel. Instead, I reframed the situation and decided I would become the unofficial Biggest Loser. Don’t focus on the reasons you can’t accomplish a goal – focus on ways you can.”

When Mark said it to me last month, he mentioned that God said the same thing to his wife, Jen, at a time when one of his kids was so sick that she had to be airlifted to another hospital. He said that at that point all he could see was the situation at hand. Not what God was doing in the situation. That was when God said to her to look out of the window of the helicopter to the earth below. What once seemed like a huge building before – the hospital – seemed so small at that point. At that moment, Jen saw the world how God sees the world. Not just what is in front of him at that moment in time but everything all at once.

Change your perspective.

Don’t just look at the situation how it is at that moment but the bigger picture. If you change your attitude, your outlook on the situation, the situation will change. Change how you pray about a situation. Maybe the reason why the situation hasn’t changed is because God needs you to change how you talk (pray) to him about it.

Change your prespective.

How has God been speaking to you lately? Is he looking for you to change your perspective, too?

Leave a Reply

