Open Letter

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted. I’ve been trying to spend more time in my bible than online. Hence, two weeks without a post. However, something I saw on the news today prompted me to write an open letter. I believe this will be one of many to come.

***********************************

Dear Media Outlets,

I must write this because I am deeply disappointed, although not quite surprised.

I believe it is time that as a nation, we must start to look at how we view “celebrities” and their personal lives. I do not believe that it is OK to continue to report on their relationship ups and downs. It is not “hard hitting” news. I don’t even see it as newsworthy.

Now, before I continue, I must admit that at one point I did enjoy reading these gossip magazines. Now, however, it just disgusts me.

I feel an overwhelming sense to protect. Why? Well, maybe because if it were me, I would not want my relationships put under a microscope just so that everyone and their mother could analyze them.

This morning what upset me enough to write this was to watch a morning “news” show that I usually enjoy watching have a psychologist and some author (whose name I don’t remember but she apparently has also been cheated on) analyze Sandra Bullock and Jesse James’ marriage and the alleged infidelity. (I say alleged because can we really trust that this woman truly had an 11-month affair with him? I mean, come on, she told her story to OK! magazine. I’m not 100% sure but I wouldn’t put it past them to have paid her for the story.) This morning show also chose to go to the people to get their opinions about the alleged infidelity. Seriously? Whose business is it anyway whether I or any other person has an opinion about a relationship we know NOTHING about.

(I promise I am getting to my point here.)

Would you like it if we dug up your past indiscretions and blasted them from the rooftops for the world to hear and see? I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t. I believe as a nation we need to really change how we see celebrities. There was a time when they did have personal lives that were lived outside of the spotlight and I think we need to get back to that. The moral condition of this nation has truly gone to the wayside and until we can get back to our original moral code, a Biblical standard of living, then I don’t see how we can get back to being the great nation we once were.

But the media outlets could help. They have a great influence on what we see. So take a stance. Instead of reporting on the latest hookups and breakups, who cheated who and other scandals, report on the good and the admirable things more often. Report on the situations that give people HOPE.

It is a choice everyday that we can make. It’s just a matter of making it and sticking with it.

Thank you,

Jennifer

P.S. If you would like to discuss this further, leave a comment or contact me at blessed_blog@hotmail.com. 🙂

And if it seems evil to you to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves this day who you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. {Joshua 24:15}

Leave a Reply

