Book Review: I Will Carry You by Angie Smith

I first happened upon Angie Smith’s blog well over a year ago. I can’t remember if it was before or after her daughter, Audrey, came and left this world. I do remember that I spent about 3 days “catching up” on her blog. Yep I read every post from the beginning.

Because I wanted to make sure that I knew the WHOLE story. Because that first post I had come upon touched me so greatly that I had to know about this sweet girl’s complete story. Because it mattered. She matters.

Here’s a brief synopsis of the book (from the back of the book):

Angie Smith was eighteen weeks pregnant with her fourth daughter, Audrey Caroline, when doctors discovered conditions leaving Audrey “incompatible with life.” Faced with the decisions whether to terminate the pregnancy, Angie and her husband chose to carry Audrey for as long as she had life. This began what turned out to be three months of loving and carrying a little girl that was not expected to live more than a few minutes.

Audrey Caroline lived for over two hours, weighing three pounds, two ounces. Yet, in the midst of the sorrow of loss, there was still joy. Angie weaves the faith-filled story of Audrey Caroline with a biblical story of hope to help us all to understand how better to copy with loss and disappointment.

In I Will Carry You, Audrey’s mom tells the sweet story of her baby girl who changed the world. Be part of Audrey’s story as you read of this mom, her daughter, and the family’s faith — you will be among the changed!

I was sort of biased before I even started reading this book because I fell in love with Angie and Audry through reading her blog, Bring the Rain, but I enjoyed this book. (Er, enjoyed isn’t exactly the word I would use but I’m having a brain lapse.)  Although I’m not a mom, I was deeply effected by Angie’s story.

What effects me most about this story is Angie’s faith. As a Christian myself, I know that there are times when we don’t

I Will Carry You book cover

understand God at times when He seems to be taking from us. But this walk isn’t easy. (This is where I am going to be a little critical.) Unfortunately, there are some Christian circles who make it seem like walking with God is… well, a cake walk. (No pun intended.) But Angie is very open about the fact that this isn’t an easy walk.

This walk with God isn’t about it being easy. It’s about believing that He came as a man named Jesus who lived without sin to die and become the sacrificial lamb for ALL of our sin. It is about having faith in God and trusting that He has our best interest at heart. It’s about striving to live to glorify Him.

When I read this book, that is how I felt. It also helped me to understand the depth of grief a parent goes through when they lose a child. I hope that I can take some of what Angie wrote and remember it if I ever have a friend who is grieving.

I would recommend this book to any parent who has lost a child or any adult who has a friend who lost a child. What is also great about this book is that there is a section on helping children through the grief process. This section is good for parents who have older children. There is also a section of resources, too.

**Disclaimer: I purchased this book on my own and I am not being compensated in anyway from the author or publisher for this review.**

2 responses to “Book Review: I Will Carry You by Angie Smith

  1. I’ve been thinking recently with all that God has been showing me… that walking with Him is not for the weak (and yet it is). Jesus tells us that in following Him we will have to pick up our cross… that’s tough work. The good news, is that He helps us carry it – we do not journey alone.

    • Yes and Amen. The Scriptures say that when we are weak, He is strong. The great thing about that is He is ALWAYS strong. We do not walk this path alone for He is always by our side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

