Known

known (verb): to perceive or understand as fact or truth; to apprehend clearly and with certainty; to have established or fixed in the mind or memory; to be cognizant or aware of; be acquainted with (a thing, place, person, etc.), as by sight, experience, or report; to understand from experience or attainment (usually fol. by how  before an infinitive); to be able to distinguish, as one from another.

To be known by another.

To have knowledge of someone or something.

I believe that all humans want to know and be known by another. God also wants to be known by His children. He already knows us.

Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! {Psalm 46:10 NKJV}

O God, You know my foolishness; And my sins are not hidden from You. {Psalm 69:5}

Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting. {Psalm 139:23,24}

For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. {Psalm 139:13,14}

I want to know God. I don’t want to just say I know God but I want to be able to say it with meaning behind it.

Whenever I think about the fact that I am single, I always go back to this thought:

How can I expect to know another person – a Godly man – if I don’t know God?

I feel like in order to be ready for that type of relationship, I need to spend more time in the Word, more time in prayer. How will I know who the right man is if I don’t know God and I don’t have discernment enough to know the difference between someone who knows God and doesn’t know God, or if he doesn’t know God that he is open to knowing God.

There is a song by Little Big Town called “To Know Love” and one of the lyrics is:

‘Cause to know you is to know love
And to know love is to know enough
To walk with you through this life
From now until the day I die

When I first heard this song, it made me think of the fact that God is Love. And if we know God, we know Love. If we know Jesus, we know Love because in the name of Love, He gave His life for us so that we may be able to know the Father in an intimate way.

How amazing is that?

And yet, there are those who reject Him. Every day I am more and more thankful for His love and grace and mercy in my life and I can not wait to see what He has in store for me. Today and every day forward will be a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

